AGS Outreach

The AGS Outreach Committee consists of representatives from nine districts across the state. For a full reference map of Alabama and each district please click here.

The representatives facilitate the gathering of information throughout the state. This will help point researchers to what resources are available in local areas. They focus on libraries, genealogical and historical societies and all other entities that concentrate on preserving historical records. They work as a liaison between the organizations in each district and the AGS.

We believe the strength and survivability of all genealogical organizations and service units around the state depend on the degree to which we are willing to partner and support each other.

Contact the representative for the county in which you are researching for further information. If you need a professional genealogist please see our AGS Researchers List.

For any additional questions regarding AGS Outreach or if you need to inquire regarding a District that has no current representative please contact our Outreach Director Marsha Foreman.

District Representatives

District 1: Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Marion, Winston
Representative: Julie Burks
Resources: Web Resource Links

District 2: Blount, Cullman, DeKalb, Jackson, Madison, Marshall, Morgan
Representative: Yvonne Toombs
Resources: Web Resource Links

District 3:  Choctaw, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Lamar, Marengo, Pickens, Sumter, Tuscaloosa
Representative: Heather Falls
Resources: Web Resource Links

District 4: Jefferson, Shelby, Walker 
Representative: Ethel Alexander 
Resources: Web Resource Links

District 5: Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Etowah, Randolph, St. Clair, Talladega
Representative: Paulette Kelly
Resources: Web Resource Links

District 6: Autauga, Bibb, Butler, Chilton, Dallas, Lowndes, Perry, Wilcox
Representative: VACANT
Resources: Pen to Paper: The Correspondence of Mary Elizabeth Rains Landrum ; Web Resource Links

District 7: Bullock, Chambers, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Montgomery, Russell, Tallapoosa
Representative: Sharon Fox
Resources: Web Resource Links

District 8: Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe, Washington
Representative: Denisha Logan
Resources: Web Resource Links

District 9: Barbour, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Pike
Representative: Dianne Smith
Resources: Web Resource Links